Story Poster
Photo by Raymond Carlin III-USA TODAY Sports

Robert Allen's Vote on All-Big 12 Preseason Team and PFF has Three Pokes on 1st Team

July 7, 2021

STILLWATER – The Big 12 Conference released the annual media voted on Preseason All-Big 12 team that comes out prior to next week’s Big 12 Media Days. Oklahoma State had two players selected by the media as Zach Lancaster wrote about with offensive tackle Josh Sills and safety Kolby Harvell-Peel being selected conference-wide by the media.

Pat Kinnison - Chief Photographer
My vote for All-Big 12 preseason had seven Cowboys, four on defense.

As you might imagine, my vote had a few more Cowboys on it, but not a huge amount. This is the season that Oklahoma and Iowa State have the attention of most observers going into the fall. TCU and Texas with new head coach Steve Sarkisian are also drawing favoritism as teams that could surprise and compete. Oklahoma State is in the group as well, but not as much as in recent seasons.

The Cowboys truly have a chance to come out of the weeds or from off the radar heading into the 2021 Big 12 football season. Here were my selections for the Big 12 Preseason All-Conference team.

Offense Name School Defense Name School
QB Spencer Rattler Oklahoma DL Will McDonald Iowa State
RB Breece Hall Iowa State DL Dante Stills West Virginia
RB Bijon Robinson Texas DL Isaiah Thomas Oklahoma
FB Jax Dineen Kansas State DL Israel Antwine Oklahoma State
WR Marvin Mims Oklahoma DL Ochaun Mathis TCU
WR Tay Martin Oklahoma State LB  Mike Rose Iowa State
WR Xavier Hutchinson Iowa State LB Malcolm Rodriguez Oklahoma State
TE Charlie Kolar Iowa State LB Terrel Bernard Baylor
OL Collin Newell Iowa State DB Tre-Vius Hodges-Tomlinson TCU
OL Marquis Hayes Oklahoma  DB Tre Sterling Oklahoma State
OL Josh Sills Oklahoma State DB Greg Eisworth Iowa State
OL Tyrese Robinson Oklahoma DB Adrian Frye Texas Tech
OL  Dawson Deaton Texas Tech DB Kolby Harvell-Peel Oklahoma State
Punter Austin McNamara Texas Tech PK Alex Hale Oklahoma State
      Return Specialist Deuce Vaughn Kansas State

Pro Football Focus released their All-Conference teams and that included the Big 12 Conference. Here is what PFF had with regards to Oklahoma State and remember the folks at Pro Football Focus look at this with the eyes of NFL scouts and players that could play at the next level. 

PFF had Spencer Rattler as their first team quarterback with Borck Purdy of Iowa State on the second team, Jarret Doege of West Virginia on the third team, and Skyler Thompson of K-State fourth.

Pokes Report
Woodard (70) a surprise 1st-team PFF pick.

Oklahoma State’s Tay Martin was honorable mention at wide receiver.

Hunter Woodard was the only Cowboy that was first-team on offense at guard. Interesting choice there.

On defense, Malcolm Rodriguez was a second-team choice at linebacker. Jarrick Bernard-Converse was a secon-team choice at cornerback. 

Tre Sterling was the lone first-team choice at safety and Kolby Harvell-Peel was second-team right underneath Sterling. 

Pat Kinnison - Chief Photographer
Hale popular with Allen and PFF.

Cowboys kicker Alex Hale was first-team as a specialist. 

Discussion from...

Robert Allen's Vote on All-Big 12 Preseason Team and PFF has Three Pokes on 1st Team

1,627 Views | 0 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by Robert Allen
There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 1
subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.